Dr. Laneshia Tague Receives KL2 Award

Laneshia K. Tague, MD, MSCI

Dr. Laneshia Tague has received a KL2 award with a July 1st, 2019 appointment start. The grant title is “Pharmacogenetic-based Mycophenolate Dosing to Improve Lung Transplant Outcomes”.

Congratulations to the 2019 SPIRiT Awardee Dr. Hrishikesh Kulkarni

Hrishikesh Kulkarni, MD, MSCI

Hrishikesh Kulkarni, MD, MSCI, with his collaborating PI, has been awarded a $50,000/one year award for his research project through the SPIRiT funding program. The SPIRiT (Sharing Partnership for Innovative Research in Translation) consortium is a partnership between Clinical and Translational Science Award (CTSA) sites including: Johns Hopkins University, University of Chicago, University of Pennsylvania, University of […]

Steven Brody, MD receives R01 from NHLBI

Steven Brody, MD

In March 2019, Steven Brody, MD has received a new R01 from the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. His project title is: “Cellular and Molecular Features of Gene Mutations in Primary Ciliary Dyskinesia.”

Michael J. Holtzman, MD receives an Outstanding Investigator Award from NHLBI

Michael J. Holtzman, MD

Michael J. Holtzman, MD received an Outstanding Investigator Award entitled “Defining and Controlling Airway Disease” from the National Institutes of Health, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute. This Project aims at reprogramming epithelial stem cells in the lung to understand and prevent respiratory airway diseases such as asthma and chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD). The award […]

Kayla Berry is selected for an oral presentation in Chicago for ASCI/AAP

Kayla Berry

Kayla Berry from Tom Brett’s lab was selected as one of only two trainee presentations for the ASCI/AAP meeting. MSTP is only sponsoring 19 students to travel to the ASCI/AAP meeting in Chicago. Kayla was selected out of a competitive group of trainees at this meeting.

Dr. Jennifer Alexander-Brett achieves Junior Physician Investigator Award

Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD

Dr. Jennifer Alexander-Brett has been selected as the recipient of the Junior Physician Investigator Award from the American Federation for Medical Research. This award will be presented to Dr. Alexander-Brett during one of the plenary sessions of the Translational Science 2018 meeting in Washington, DC. She was also invited to give a podium presentation at […]

Laneshia Tague, MD received a Transplant Registry Early Career Award

Laneshia K. Tague, MD, MSCI

Laneshia Tague, MD, Postdoctoral Research Scholar received a Transplant Registry Early Career Award from the International Society for Heart and Lung Transplantation on her project entitled “Association between Allograft Ischemic Time and Adverse Outcomes Following Lung Transplant”.

Mario Castro, MD, MPH awarded 2 new research grants

Mario Castro, MD

In September 2017, Mario Castro, MD, MPH received 2 new research grants. “Washington University K12 Program in T4 Implementation Research” from the NIH/NHLBI seeks to develop a K12 training program to train scholars to bridge research and practice in a variety of real-world settings with a focus on HLBS disorders. “Washington University’s Precision Biologic Interventions […]

Michael Holtzman, MD awarded research grant

Michael J. Holtzman, MD

In February 2017, Michael Holtzman received a five year research award (R01) entitled “PARP9-DTX3L Control of Viral Infection and Airway Disease” from the NIH/NIAID. The aims are to define how airway epithelial cells control respiratory viral infection and post-viral airway disease and how to translate these results to develop a new class of therapeutics.

Ramsey Hachem, MD awarded grant from Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Therapeutics

Ramsey Hachem, MD

In January 2017, Ramsey Hachem, MD received a two year award entitled “Cystic Fibrosis Lung Transplant Consortium” from the Cystic Fibrosis Foundation Therapeutics. The aim is to develop a multicenter consortium of lung transplant centers focused on optimizing and standardizing the care of patients with cystic fibrosis through lung transplantation.

Jeffrey Haspel, MD, PhD awarded research grant

Jeffrey Haspel, MD, PhD

In December 2016, Jeffrey Haspel, MD, PhD received a five year research award (R01) entitled “Clock Gene Control of Viral Infection and Asthma” from the National Institutes of Health, National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute.

Years of Service

Many employees in the Division of Pulmonary and Critical Care Medicine were honored at a Length of Service Awards Service, including: Cindy Lee Sacks, 30 years Sharon L. Heuerman, 30 years Richard K. Barnett, 20 years View the full list of awardees (pdf)

July 1, 2016 promotions

Byers (left) and Alexander-Brett

Effective July 1, 2016 the following faculty were promoted: Derek Byers, MD, PhD – promoted from Assistant Professor of Medicine to Associate Professor of Medicine Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD – promoted from Instructor in Medicine to Assistant Professor of Medicine

Alexander-Brett named Rising Star

Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD

Congratulations to Jennifer Alexander-Brett, MD, PhD who was selected as the 2016 ATS “Science and Innovation Center Rising Star of Research” representing the All Assembly.

Pulmonary Research Day

Our second annual Pulmonary Research Day was another great success. We were happy to welcome Dr. Andy Limper back to Washington University to deliver our Keynote Address, and over 30 people from several Departments and Divisions across campus presented their latest findings in pulmonary and critical care research. Congratulations to Dr. Patrick Aguilar from the […]